To get married in the state of New Jersey, blood tests are no
longer required, however, a wedding license is required.
Apply for your license within 30 days of your wedding date.
There is a 72 hour waiting period between the time the
application is completed and the license is issued. The
full details follow courtesy of The Atlantic City Bureau of
Vital Statistics as printed in the brochure "Getting
Married in New Jersey."
Where should you apply for a marriage license?
the bride is a resident of New Jersey, the marriage license must
be obtained from the Registrar of Vital Statistics in the
municipality where she lives.
she is a non-resident of New Jersey and the groom is a resident
of New Jersey, the license must be obtained from the Registrar
in the municipality in which the groom resides. (For
marriage license purposes, soldiers are residents of the posts
at which they are stationed.) A license issued under
either of the preceeding circumstances is good for use anywhere
in New Jersey.
both bride and groom are non-residents of New Jersey, the
license must be obtained from the Registrar of the municipality
where the marriage is to be performed and is only good for use
in that municipality.
license may never be used outside of New Jersey and a license
issued in another state may never be used in New Jersey.
sure to contact the Registrar well in advance of the wedding to
find out on what days and during what hours the Registrar will
be in the office. The license fee (subject to change) is
can perform a marriage ceremony?
to state law, judges of a Federal District Court, United States
magistrates, judges of a Municipal Court, judges of the Superior
Court, judges of a Tax Court, retired judges of the Superior
Court or Tax Court, or judge of the Superior Court or Tax Court
who has resigned in good standing, and any mayor/deputy mayor or
chairman of any township committee, village president of New
Jersey, County Clerks, and every minister of every religion may
solemnize a marriage.
should you apply for a marriage license?
local Registrar will not issue a marriage license sooner than 72
hours after the application for a marriage license has been
made, unless ordered to do so via an appropriate court order.
the marriage is scheduled for a Saturday or Sunday, the
application should be made no later than the preceeding Tuesday.
If the application is made on a Wednesday or Thursday, the 72
hours will end on Saturday or Sunday, but the Registrar
will probably not be available on those days or any public
both the bride and groom are unavailable to complete the
application at the same time, either applicant may complete
his/her part of the application and start the waiting period.
The other applicant must return with the same witness (who must
be at least 18 years old) to complete his/her part of the
application. The application must be completed by both
parties before the license will be issued. Once the
marriage license is issued, it is good for 30 days from the date
couple wishing to have both religious and civil ceremonies may
be issued a license for both ceremonies on the basis of a single
application. However, a couple wishing to have two
religious ceremonies, and wanting to have a public record of
each, may not have two licenses issued at the same time.
They must apply for and use the first license. They must
then return to the Registrar with the signed original
certificate of marriage and a witness to apply for a remarriage
should you bring with you when you apply?
birth certificate may be requested for proof of age and
parentage. In Atlantic City (please check with your local
town hall) social security cards are also needed.
one or both of the applicants are divorced, you should bring a
copy of the final decree or decrees for examination by the
Registrar or a statement by the judge as to when the final
decree was signed (not the date of the final hearing).
of both parents is necessary if an applicant is under 18 years
of age. Both parental consents and judicial approval of
such consents are necessary if the applicant is younger than 16.
These consents should be on forms supplied by the Registrar.
should the marriage record be filed?
person performing a marriage ceremony must file the license and
marriage certificate with the Registrar of the municipality in
which the marriage was performed. Since failure to record
the marriage may cause considerable inconvenience at a later
date when proof of marriage is needed, you should make sure that
this has been done.
the Registrar of Vital Statistics in your town, usually located
within your town or city's local town hall.
Atlantic City has a number of scenic locations for small
weddings. Beach ceremonies are also quite popular whether its a
vow renewal or a ceremony with 100 guests. The individual
casinos do not have drive through chapels as they do in Las
Vegas. If you choose to have a beach ceremony and combine
it with a stay at one of the casinos or area hotels, please note
that there is a 72 hour waiting period to get a wedding license
in the state of New Jersey (see above).
renew your vows you would need to bring a certified copy of your
marriage license. For vow renewals you don't have to wait
the 72 hours.
additional information on beach sites and what permits are
required for a beach ceremony:
Wedding Ceremony Sites & Scenic Places for Wedding
Photography in Atlantic County
can perform my ceremony?
You can be married at the Atlantic City Town Hall by the Mayor
or in any mayor's office. On occasion, a mayor has performed a
beach wedding ceremony. However, you can also hire a
member of the clergy to perform your ceremony.
In the services section of this
site look under Clergy and Bridal Consultants to find wedding
professionals who can either perform your ceremony or make
arrangements for a local ceremony.