Where should you apply for a marriage license?
the bride is a resident of New Jersey, the marriage license must be
obtained from the Registrar of Vital Statistics in the municipality
where she lives.
she is a non-resident of New Jersey and the groom is a resident of
New Jersey, the license must be obtained from the Registrar in the
municipality in which the groom resides. (For marriage license
purposes, soldiers are residents of the posts at which they are
stationed.) A license issued under either of the preceeding
circumstances is good for use anywhere in New Jersey.
both bride and groom are non-residents of New Jersey, the license
must be obtained from the Registrar of the municipality where the
marriage is to be performed and is only good for use in that
license may never be used outside of New Jersey and a license issued in another state may never be used in New Jersey.
sure to contact the Registrar well in advance of the wedding to find
out on what days and during what hours the Registrar will be in the
office. The license fee (subject to change) is currently
can perform a marriage ceremony?
to state law, judges of a Federal District Court, United States
magistrates, judges of a Municipal Court, judges of the Superior
Court, judges of a Tax Court, retired judges of the Superior Court
or Tax Court, or judge of the Superior Court or Tax Court who has
resigned in good standing, and any mayor/deputy mayor or chairman of
any township committee, village president of New Jersey, County
Clerks, and every minister of every religion may solemnize a
should you apply for a marriage license?
local Registrar will not issue a marriage license sooner than 72
hours after the application for a marriage license has been made,
unless ordered to do so via an appropriate court order.
the marriage is scheduled for a Saturday or Sunday, the application
should be made no later than the preceeding Tuesday. If the
application is made on a Wednesday or Thursday, the 72 hours will
end on Saturday or Sunday, but the Registrar will probably not be
available on those days or any public holiday.
both the bride and groom are unavailable to complete the application
at the same time, either applicant may complete his/her part of the
application and start the waiting period. The other applicant
must return with the same witness (who must be at least 18 years
old) to complete his/her part of the application. The
application must be completed by both parties before the license
will be issued. Once the marriage license is issued, it is
good for 30 days from the date of issuance.
couple wishing to have both religious and civil ceremonies may be
issued a license for both ceremonies on the basis of a single
application. However, a couple wishing to have two religious
ceremonies, and wanting to have a public record of each, may not
have two licenses issued at the same time. They must apply for
and use the first license. They must then return to the
Registrar with the signed original certificate of marriage and a
witness to apply for a remarriage license.
should you bring with you when you apply?
birth certificate may be requested for proof of age and
parentage. In Atlantic City (please check with your local town
hall) social security cards are also needed.
one or both of the applicants are divorced, you should bring a copy
of the final decree or decrees for examination by the Registrar or a
statement by the judge as to when the final decree was signed (not
the date of the final hearing).
of both parents is necessary if an applicant is under 18 years of
age. Both parental consents and judicial approval of such
consents are necessary if the applicant is younger than 16.
These consents should be on forms supplied by the Registrar.
should the marriage record be filed?
person performing a marriage ceremony must file the license and
marriage certificate with the Registrar of the municipality in which
the marriage was performed. Since failure to record the
marriage may cause considerable inconvenience at a later date when
proof of marriage is needed, you should make sure that this has been
the Registrar of Vital Statistics in your town, usually located
within your town or city's local town hall.
Atlantic City has a number of scenic locations for small
weddings. Beach ceremonies are also quite popular whether its a vow
renewal or a ceremony with 100 guests. The individual casinos
do not have drive through chapels as they do in Las Vegas. If
you choose to have a beach ceremony and combine it with a stay at
one of the casinos or area hotels, please note that there is a 72 hour waiting period to get a
wedding license in the state of New Jersey (see above).
To renew your vows you would need to
bring a certified copy of your marriage license. For vow
renewals you don't have to wait the 72 hours.
additional information on beach sites and what permits are required
for a beach ceremony:
Wedding Ceremony Sites & Scenic Places for Wedding Photography
in Atlantic County
perform my ceremony?
You can be married at the Atlantic City Town Hall by the Mayor or in
any mayor's office. On occasion, a mayor has performed a beach
wedding ceremony. However, you can also hire a member of the
clergy to perform your ceremony.
Companies from our services section of the site who can perform your
ceremony or make arrangements for your ceremony include:
interfaith minister for customized wedding ceremonies or vow
renewals contact: Ceremonies
by the Sea
For a local
bridal consultant who can create a package custom tailored to your
taste and budget contact: The
ceremony and photographs or small beach weddings contact Family
Visit our services
section for additional information from local wedding